Love Me Like That

Hi Internet! Okay, so I’ve been thinking about this for a while and surely by this point you’re all starting to get bored of reading about my past just as much as I am starting to, writing about it. I thought for this post I’d mix it up so I could also document the incredible memory. For any of you who know me well, you’ll know I love me some good bands and just about 90% of the music I listen to is by bands ranging from post-hardcore to alternative rock.

Anyway, it happened on the 6th of April when I saw one of my favourite Australian bands, Masketta Fall. I first heard of them in 2012 from a friend and she told me about this band that she heard busking outside the All Time Low concert. I immediately looked them up and loved their music but with Masketta Fall being a relatively small band they didn’t have a tonne of music out at the time and weren’t releasing new music so they fell off my radar after a while. It wasn’t until January 2015 that I went to The Vamps, and Masketta Fall was an opening act. Here was this band from three years ago that I had completely forgotten about and they were back! The weeks that were to follow were completely filled with my obsessive fangirling and excitement.

One year later, they announced a tour with VIP packages! I couldn’t believe it! To think that I finally would be able to see and meet these guys that I loved so much was just unreal. Fast forward to the 6th of April, Karin and I had to squeeze in as much study as possible before we had to leave for the concert. We thought the M&G started at 4pm but then through all these misunderstandings, missing busses and confusion…we missed it. We got to the venue at 4pm and the second we got there I had this horrible feeling in the bottom of my stomach that we had missed it. About 15 minutes later, we were all let in and I started noticing that people inside already had their VIP lanyards so Karin asked the guy at the desk about the M&G and he said it had ended at 3:45pm.

After waiting so long to meet these guys and buying a VIP ticket, I couldn’t believe that we might miss out on it. So, after panicking for a while, we went back up to the desk and I asked the lady and she said that she couldn’t do anything about it but to talk to the band Manager. Jonty, the Manager, said that at the end of the show we could meet them properly.

At the end of the concert they went through and met everyone and I told them then that we missed the M&G so they said to wait and we could hang with them after everyone had left. While Karin and I were waiting for everyone to be done, we met Marcelo, who was the supporting act, and got a picture with him. He was honestly such a lovely guy and incredible live! So much talent in one guy.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Afterwards, we went and sat on the couch for about 20 minutes and watched more and more people leave until some official-looking lady came to us and said we could go in. We walked into the hall and Jamie, Braden and Moli were talking to these other girls so Karin just stood there for a bit. Eventually, the girls left and Jamie came over to us and called the other boys over and we chatted for a while. I tried to keep my cool as much as possible but my hands were shaking so much and I was struggling to just have a coherent conversation with these guys. Probably the only proper conversation I had was with Braden about his perfume because I told him he smelled nice and Moli was so surprised at how much I knew about perfumes and their different notes. On the inside, he was probably thinking, “Who is this perfume nerd we let in?” Anyway, we all took some selfies during which, Moli was absent but then out of nowhere he just popped up in front of me and was putting the VIP lanyard around my neck (trust me, I may have seemed cool on the outside but inside I was dying) and then Karin, and I know it sounds so stupid but that was probably one of my favourite memories from that night. We didn’t have to ask for the lanyard but Moli went and got them for us himself and put them around our necks too!

After that, the other guys went off to pack up the stuff so Ben was talking to us and we told him about Karin’s pinkie promise with Moli for them to come back every Wednesday to Brisbane (because I said to Braden that they should just do another tour and we started joking around that they would just drive between Brisbane and Sydney) and he jokingly asked if he could crash at our places and come over for dinner (ummm…of course!) and there was just some friendly banter going around.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
– Moli –
Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
– Jamie –
Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
– Ben –
Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
– Braden –

IMG_9851

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

All in all, it was an amazing night and I really enjoyed the vibe and their performance. When only performing to 50-100 people on this tour they easily could have not put in as much effort and energy into their sets but you could see how hard they worked for this and that’s probably one of the main things I love about smaller bands in general. It never ceases to amaze me how dedicated they are. Even when sometimes it may seem like the easiest choice to just give up, they keep persevering to live out their dream.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

I really want to make 2016, “The Year of Concerts” so for the end of the year, be expecting a master post of all the bands and artists I’ve seen this year so I won’t be posting my best pictures until the end of the year.

– Chan

Leave a Reply

